10 Years Rigorous Imprisonment for 2014 Custodial Death.

On 23 July 2021, Nagapattinam District court awarded 10 years of rigorous imprisonment to the then Inspector and Special Sub-inspector of Police for custodial death. Court also fined 20,000 and 5,000 Rupees of each.

A1 – Rajendran and A2 – Jayaraman both were involved in the custodial death of the auto-rickshaw driver. Suresh, the victim was an auto driver; on the day of 31 December 2013, he was sitting outside the steps of a wine shop and an altercation broke out between him and Inspector who forced him to move the auto. After that Inspector brutally assaulted him and brought him to the Vanjore check post with the help of Special Sub-Inspector Jayaraman. There they brutally assaulted him with lathi and kicked in his chest, abdomen, and all over his body. Again they brought him to the police station there the brutal assault continued.

Suresh died while he was brought to the prior medical checkup before remand. Then the magistrate conducted the judicial inquiry and CB-CID probed into this matter. After four years of trial, the Nagapattinam court awarded both the police officers with 10 years of rigorous imprisonment.

Click here to read Judgement.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.