On 23 July 2021, Nagapattinam District court awarded 10 years of rigorous imprisonment to the then Inspector and Special Sub-inspector of Police for custodial death. Court also fined 20,000 and 5,000 Rupees of each.

A1 – Rajendran and A2 – Jayaraman both were involved in the custodial death of the auto-rickshaw driver. Suresh, the victim was an auto driver; on the day of 31 December 2013, he was sitting outside the steps of a wine shop and an altercation broke out between him and Inspector who forced him to move the auto. After that Inspector brutally assaulted him and brought him to the Vanjore check post with the help of Special Sub-Inspector Jayaraman. Continue Reading